Snow Hiking

Its been awhile since I’ve posted, so here is a brief recap of what I have been doing.

I’ve discovered that snow-shoeing should be counted as a hiking activity. It’s a great workout and gets you from point A to B just like a trail hike. In my case, point A was a trail head just outside Vail, CO. And point B turned out to be a 4 hour snow-shoe adventure; with a full backpack, all UP hill, to a hut on Shrine Mountain. It was beautiful, and I enjoyed a few days up there with a group of 15 people! Made some new friends, and also, unfortunately, made two horrendous blisters on both my heels. I am not kidding, it literally took 2 weeks to heal. I wore flip flops for those weeks, even in the snow! Moleskin will be applied BEFORE ANY future adventures!

I made a few trips to Sedona for warmer weather hikes.

I have also been playing tennis and pickle-ball. Both new sports to me. I am really enjoying them, although its very humbling to realize how little eye/hand coordination I actually have. The workouts have been beneficial to my overall fitness… not beneficial to my ego.

And the last activity consuming many hours of my day, is painting with acrylic paints on canvas. I’ve always wanted to write a children’s book, and I just recently discovered I’m not too bad of a whimsical animal painter! So, I am currently in the process of writing and illustrating a book! Yes, this has nothing to do with hiking.. unless I start painting trail scenes! Hmm, not a bad idea. Meanwhile here are a few of my creations.

Stay tuned for the status of the upcoming Colorado Trail hike!!

Enjoying life and new activities!

Karen

6 thoughts on “Snow Hiking

  1. Pingback: Catching My Breath – Countdown to Colorado Trail

Enter your comment here...

