Rocks and Wine

A climb up Bishop Peak in San Luis Obispo sure makes you thirsty. It was so dry and hot all I could do was dream of frozen strawberry lemonade . Nothing else would quench such a thirst. I finished all the water I had carried by the time I reached the top. The hike back with the sun beating down, the dust under my feet, the blast of hot winds and my slight anxiety of heights led to me to ask everyone I saw on the trail if they happened to have some frozen lemonade with them.  The usual response was a shrug and ” no, I’m sorry” . The occasional laugh and ” I wish” gave me hope that my craving wasn’t totally seen as a delusional heat stroke induced request. 

This hike was an obvious favorite for local hikers and climbers. Though busy and steep it was well worth the effort for such views. And yes, even the thirst couldn’t diminish my enjoyment of this place.



Immediately upon completion of the hike a quick sprint to the car and drive to the nearest lemonade location was my only thought. After quenching my thirst with a Starbucks blended strawberry lemonade it was time to head to the land of wineries.


After trying a flight of wines, I realized I really know nothing about wines. Maybe this is due to the fact I usually drink whiskey. Anyways, it was a nice experience and I’m proud to say I left without purchasing a magnum of wine for 300 dollars. Two new wine terms added to my vocabulary. Flight and magnum.Check.

The heat of the sun, the hike up the ridge, and flight of wine made me extremely sleepy. A happy sleepy but a ” I don’t feel like doing anything else”  kind of sleepy. So here I am, lying in bed and wondering if 8pm is just too early for bedtime. 

Nah, it sounds just about right.

Until tomorrow,

K

7 thoughts on “Rocks and Wine

  1. “I’m proud to say I left without purchasing a magnum of wine for 300 dollars” – hahaha! 🙂
    That sounds like something I would really like to do too. The hiking that is. Although avoiding spending $300 would be up there too. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karen

      The hike was great!!! And I found a new sparkling wine that I just might want to spend lots of money on!! I shared a bottle last night at an Italian restaurant. When I remember the name I’ll tell you. I’m pretty sure it’s going to be far less expensive then the winery!
      🍷🍷
      Cheers

      Liked by 1 person

      1. *chinks wine glass* Cheers! 🙂
        The thought of being in an Italian restaurant drinking sparkling wine makes me feel nostalgic somehow. Lives never led, places never seen, feelings never felt. A sense of loss and yet a sense of wholeness.
        Strange.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Karen

          Perhaps not strange at all. A sense of wholeness from living the life you’re meant to be living yet sensing the loss of my memory in regards to that delicious wines name. 😉

          Like

    1. Karen

      Ahh.. February will be a much better time of year to hike this!! Good planning. Thanks for recommendation for hike, unfortunately we only stayed in the area one day.

      Like

Enter your comment here...

